top of page

Forum Week 9

I don't believe I have a next step as a photojournalist. I definitely agree now that I enjoy taking picture of events and people involved in things happening than I ever would shooting scenery or posing humans but I don't think I have the guts to deal with the everyday go, go, go that appears is part of the career's life. Jobs putting yourself at the edge of legal trouble also give me enough concern to ward me from actually pursuing anything related to photojournalism. If I were to follow a more exploration photojournalist path I'd also run into the trouble that I love to travel, I don't love to have a camera on me when I am, and have come back from trips without a single photograph, but after this class that might change. If I we're to continue the problem is I'd need a camera, and that's a bit of rich purchase if I only planed to take photos as a hobby, or even if I sold photos on rare occasions. That being said I would still really like one, I'd get a Pentax K70 if I could reasonably afford it.

Topic 2

The Obamas have been the first presidential family I've grown up watching, and corresponding with the end of that era it amazing to see the photos Pete Souza has taken over these past eight plus years. The immense amount of time he has had to spend following Barack around the country, waiting to get some of the photos that the majority of American have seen is something truly amazing. Souza's framing of the different situations makes his work unique to that of other Presidential photographers, he was able to catch so many awesome parts of the Nations failures, successes, hardships, and triumphs.

What I would take away from Souza is to not take "normal" photos, even when he was taking someone as recognizable as the Obamas he reframed from taking straight on, everyday shots. He chose framing, angles, and his sense of timing to capture emotional times, and I hope I'd be daring enough to do so as well no matter status of the subject.


Never Miss a Post!
bottom of page