top of page

Week 8 forum

I think halftone screen reproduction might have to be the most important technological change for Photojournalist (not photography). Without this tech cameras would still have improved, print quality as well. But it was the development of the halftone dot photos that allowed easy replication for news media. Look at the example of the The Daily Graphic before the technology photos would be taken, then drawn, then the drawings sketch to zinc plates. This is two step where photographic proof went through human alteration to become an Illustration. Without replication of source material we really wouldn't have photojournalism as we think of it today.

I was trying to think of some great photographer that is instantly recognizable but, it be a lie if I said that person stands out through the rest. Umit Bektas stands out to me because hes one of the only photojournalist I new before I took this class and that is because he took one of the most stunning photos I've seen in my life (photo #24 in the link). Upon that hes traveled to a multitude of rough situations to get amazing shots, and if you don't know who he is I'd high recommend looking at some of his work.

Photo #24

http://archive.boston.com/bigpicture/2011/12/afghanistan_november_2011.html#photo24

Umit Bektas

https://widerimage.reuters.com/photographer/umit-bektas

Topic 2

I have already completed this assignment. I took photos of the Master Brewer (Matt Cowart) at Conversion Brewing in Lebanon OR on two different occasions capturing different stages of the brewing. I will go going back to get photo of them pour/serving a final product.


Never Miss a Post!
bottom of page